Imitating objects in Architecture

This was one of the buildings by the river Cam that we passed when we were punting. According to the guide, we were told this was designed to look like an oncoming ship.

As a design I quite like it, it looks like the work of a really good architecture student who had great ideas and yet couldn’t really express it, somehow I say that as a compliment. I like how the windows gape towards the river and I like the overall massing of the structure. How much the designer has succeeded in making this look like an oncoming ship is anyone’s guess, I personally am not really convinced by that – but that’s just my opinion. As a design I really like this in a simple yet fulfilling sort of way.

Oh, this is the Herwood Library built in 1998 as part of the University of Cambridge.

6 Comments

Filed under architecture, england

6 responses to “Imitating objects in Architecture

  1. It truly is amazing, I assume it must be really really bright in there. I all ways prefer bright light especially in the mornings 😀 I agree with you on the ship design. But what the hell it looks good, The windows and the roof look great 🙂
    Great photo, I’m not surprised it’s coming from you 😀 Looking forward for more.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Cheers!

    • aufidius

      Cheers Me-shak. Well the day we went was rather wet and cold with sunny intervals – I possibly took this during once such interval, when it was sunny it was rather bright. Yes I quite like the rhythm of the windows and apart from the shape, I think using naked timber at the top and allowing it to weather (rain/shine/humidity) does to an extent make it look like an old boat.

  2. I guess it would look like an oncoming ship if you are looking up at it from relatively close. It would be interesting to see what the rooms look like from the inside.

    • aufidius

      Yes, if you were looking at it from below like possibly a worms eye view the looming triangles do suggest such an impression. The interiors will be exciting, but I doubt if they will be particularly exciting as the exterior suggests, they may give an impression of attic rooms in certain spaces. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

