The lizard with no legs.

I went to the Epping festival at Epping Forest today with some good friends from work.

Epping Forest is a five thousand acre forest in greater London. In addition to many other things, the forest boasts of a five hundred year old hunter’s lodge, built in 1543 which was used by Queen Elizabeth I when she went to the forest to hunt stags. I worked on a conservation project in the forest and drew up some of the drawings and elevations. Inspite of doing some work on it I had never been to site, it was nice to see drawings which I played a certain part in come to life on site.

There were many events on display today as is mentioned in this page here. I have many photographs which I will upload later, where I have photos which reflect the behaviour of a caterpillar on vodka and photos of horses on a chariot race.

In the meantime enjoy this photograph.

Contrary to initial perception this is not a snake in my friends hand, rather it is what’s called a ‘slow worm’ (Anguis fragilis). According to the guy at the stall, it is a kind of lizard with no legs. Also in the picture is a child ready to excrete in his pants at the site of the lizard and what we were doing.

Have a great week all!

4 Comments

Filed under aufidius, england, macro

4 responses to “The lizard with no legs.

  1. Dee

    coooooo! i like snakes 😀

  2. cool. Looks super.

    Cheers!

  3. magerata

    I love the epping forest,(I love anywhere where trees are allowed to grow!) I have visited the hunting lodge and the near by “Royal Forrest”.

  4. Pingback: The Cat on Vodka! « Tableaux of Aufidius

Leave a Reply

