Come in for a free sample!

Bath was wonderful in that much of the attributes of a historical city was intact. Something I look for in England is the England Enid Blyton describes in her books, but that is not that prevalent in what I have seen thus far – except of course I appreciate that Enid Blyton’s books are now close to if not more than fifty years old. Amie, who came with me to Bath is from Devon and according to her Devon is still very much Enid Blyton’s England. I can faintly recall Devon being mentioned in one of Enid Blyton’s books – first book of Famous Five perhaps.

Bath had a very traditional fudge shop, where staff were clad in very tradition victorian attire and were inviting people to sample their traditional fudges. A ‘fudge’ in England, for those of you who have not tasted it is very much like the ‘Kiri Toffee’ in Sri Lanka, albeit a softer version that dissolves easily in the mouth but breaks into small pieces when bitten. I say this because someone may have stolen the name ‘fudge’ and totally misrepresenting it in Sri Lanka.

Below are some of the portraits I took of the ‘fudge people’. Apologies that this one here is over exposed.

And my favourite of the two.

 

As photographs, not to the best of my liking. Just to document my travels.

 

5 Comments

Filed under england, Sri Lanka

5 responses to “Come in for a free sample!

  1. Chavie

    Lovely pictures. Good to know that some of that old England is still intact. 🙂

  2. Stephen Isabirye

    I appreciate your pointing out Enid Blyton’s relevance to the contemporary world. I as a child used to read many Enid Blyton books. Thus, as a result of being inspired by her books, I later decided to write and publish a book on her, titled, The Famous Five: A Personal Anecdotage (www.thefamousfiveapersonalanecdotage.blogspot.com).
    Stephen Isabirye

  3. magerata

    Beautiful! (We have whole shelf (a huge one) assigned to Enid Blyton and my parents still wonder why I can’t write or speak comprehensible English!

Leave a Reply

